NHS Clinical Commissioners announces new board members

NHS Clinical Commissioners (NHSCC) has today announced a number of new board members, following on from its recent round of elections.

Graham-JacksonCo-chair of NHSCC, Dr Graham Jackson said: “It is undoubtedly a time of change, challenge and opportunity for the NHS. The NHSCC board, made up of some of the most influential clinical commissioning leaders across the country, can provide a credible and powerful voice for our members. They will ensure that as the health and care landscape evolves, clinical leadership remains at the heart of national decision-making so that we are able to continue making a difference to the patients and populations we serve.”

Board representatives are elected by NHSCC members across the organisation’s membership. They play a critical part in ensuring that NHSCC’s work remains truly member-led and member-driven and represent both geographical constituencies and the six NHSCC member networks. There is also representation from sustainability and transformation partnerships and emerging accountable care systems.

julie-wood_websiteJulie Wood, chief executive of NHSCC said: “Our democratically elected board plays a critical part in steering our work and helping us tackle the challenges faced by our members. I am delighted to welcome a number of high-calibre new representatives, and look forward to working alongside both them and our excellent continuing board members, who have been invaluable to helping us achieve high quality influence and provide practical support for our membership. I would also like to thank those board members who will be stepping down following these elections for their immense contribution to ensuring that NHSCC both became and remains the authoritative voice of clinical commissioning.”

Co-chaired by Dr Amanda Doyle, and Dr Graham Jackson, the board will be made up of 24 people. There will be 14 clinicians on the board, with the remainder comprised of managers and lay people to reflect the make-up of CCG governing bodies across the country.

The board is 50% women, an important achievement for the organisation which has worked to promote gender diversity in clinical commissioning leadership. This included pledging to encourage and support women and women clinical leaders on its board in its Women in clinical commissioning leadership publication.

Amanda Doyle 20160428Dr Amanda Doyle said: “The NHSCC board is made up of some extremely dedicated and talented people, reflecting the high quality of leadership across the commissioning sector. I look forward to working with both the new representatives and those continuing on the board to drive NHSCC’s work forward and help our members achieve their ambitions of delivering the best possible health care for their patients and local populations.”

The successful candidates will take up their places on the NHSCC board on Tuesday 4 July 2017. A full list of the board from this date is below.

NHSCC Board Members – from 4 July 2017

Co-Chairs – Dr Amanda Doyle, NHS Blackpool CCG & Dr Graham Jackson, NHS Aylesbury Vale CCG

Chief Executive – Julie Wood

Geographical member constituencies

East of England – Dr Ian Mack, NHS West Norfolk CCG (continuing)

East Midlands – Amanda Sullivan, NHS Mansfield and Ashfield CCG, NHS Newark and Sherwood CCG (newly elected)

London – Dr Josephine Sauvage, NHS Islington CCG (newly elected)

London – Dr Nikki Kanani, NHS Bexley CCG (continuing)

North of England (job share) – Amanda Hume, NHS South Tees CCG and Dr David Hambleton, NHS South Tyneside CCG (both newly elected)

North West – Dr Gora Bangi, NHS Chorley and South Ribble CCG (re-elected)

North West – Anthony Hassall, NHS Salford CCG (newly elected)

South Central – Dr Adrian Hayter, NHS Windsor Ascot and Maidenhead CCG (continuing)

South East – Dr Barbara Rushton, NHS South Eastern Hampshire CCG (newly elected)

South East – Amanda Philpott, NHS Eastbourne, Hailsham and Seaford CCG; NHS Hastings and Rother CCG (re-elected)

South West – Tracey Cox, NHS Bath and North East Somerset CCG (newly elected)

West Midlands – Dr Anthony Kelly, NHS South Worcestershire CCG (continuing)

Member network representatives

Mental Health Commissioners NetworkDr Phil Moore, NHS Kingston CCG (continuing)

Lay Members Network – Susanne Hasselmann, NHS South Eastern Hampshire CCG (re-elected)

Finance Forum – Andrew Pepper, NHS Wakefield CCG (re-elected)

Nurses Forum – Lorna Collingwood-Burke, NHS Northern, Eastern and Western Devon CCG (newly elected)

Core Cities Network – Dr Tim Moorhead, NHS Sheffield CCG  (re-elected)

National Ambulance Commissioners Network – Yvonne Rispin, NHS Blackpool CCG (continuing)

Co-opted board members

Dr Alistair Blair, NHS Northumberland CCG (continuing)

Richard Samuel, STP Lead for Hampshire and Isle of Wight (continuing)

30 June 2017